We’re here for you. See what we’re building for small businesses at gusto.com/covid-19. To download W-2s or 1099s, sign into your account.
We’re here for small businesses. For W-2s or 1099s, sign in.

×

How can we help?

Integrate with Ethena

Ethena provides sexual harassment prevention training for today’s teams by offering modern, effective content in an easy-to-use, state-compliant e-learning platform. 

Gusto integrates with Ethena to sync employee data to Ethena’s platform, reducing the overhead of managing multiple systems.

Customers who join Gusto from Ethena will receive Gusto free for their first 3 months.

Connect to Gusto from Ethena

  1. Sign in to the Ethena admin hub.

  2. Click Integrations on the left menu.

  3. In the section labeled Gusto, click Integrate Gusto.

    • This will direct you to Gusto’s website.

  4. Enter your Gusto credentials and click Sign In.

  5. Click Authorize.

    • You will be redirected back to Ethena’s Integrations page.

If the connection was successful, the Gusto section of the integrations page will:

  • Show as "Enabled".

  • Display when the last sync occurred.

  • Indicate how many users are managed through Gusto versus managed directly in Ethena.

You can turn off the integration at any time by selecting Remove Gusto on the same page. No employees will be removed from either system if you turn off the integration.  

The Gusto to Ethena employee sync

To reduce administrative overhead, Ethena treats Gusto as the source of truth for employee information. Out of the box, Ethena syncs all employees found in Gusto with a valid email address and job location. 

The sync will occur every hour to ensure any new employees are captured early. In the Ethena employees page, users managed through Gusto have the Gusto “g” logo next to their email addresses.

Information that will be pulled from Gusto:

  • Name

  • Email address

  • Work state

  • Managerial status

  • Department/office

At this time, contractor information will not push to Ethena.

Keep in mind: for all users (managed through Gusto or managed manually), you have the ability to update their email address in Ethena if you prefer that they receive their training through a different email address than the one provided in Gusto.

Manually manage employees in Ethena

If you do not want Gusto to automatically update employee information for an individual:

  1. Click My Employees.

  2. Click on an individual.

  3. Click the link to Manage this user manually.

    • Keep in mind: once you've selected this option and saved, if you want an employee to be managed through Gusto again, you'll need to reach out to support@goethena.com to have them assist.

  4. Edit fields as needed.

  5. Click Save Employee.

Once the Gusto icon is no longer showing next to the employee name, you’ll be responsible for managing that employee manually.

Pausing training(s) in Ethena

Paused users cannot view or complete any outstanding trainings and cannot be assigned to any future trainings. In order to pause trainings, a user must be manually managed (rather than managed through Gusto) in Ethena. If you'd like to pause trainings:

  1. Follow the steps above to "Manually manage employees in Ethena."
  2. Go to the employee's details in Ethena, and pause training
    • Because paused users are manually managed, their information will not sync from Gusto.

FAQs

Q: What if I’ve already added employees to Ethena?

A: Ethena matches users based on email address and name. This means if you used the same email address in Gusto as you did in Ethena, or if the full name matches in both systems, the integration will automatically connect the two records.

Q: What if I want to provide Ethena training to a user who is not in my Gusto account. 

A: Add the user(s) directly to Ethena.

Q: What happens if an employee isn’t syncing to Ethena?

A: First confirm that the Gusto employee has a valid email address as well as a valid job location. If it’s still not working, reach out to support@goethena.com.

Q: What do I do if I have two users in Ethena for the same employee?

A: Delete the incorrect user in Ethena. Then, update the correct user to have information that matches what's in Gusto (email and/or full name). The next time the auto-sync runs (usually within a 2-hour window), the Gusto user and Ethena user should match.

Q: What happens if I dismiss an employee in Gusto but they haven’t completed all their trainings in Ethena?

A: Their Ethena account will be disabled and they will not be able to review or complete any outstanding training.

Q: In Ethena, what does “disable employee” do in the employee details?

A: If a user is managed in Ethena, not by Gusto, then disabling them means they can no longer view or complete any outstanding training. They will also not be assigned any future training. 

  • If the user is managed by Gusto, then the admin would first have to mark the user as managed by Ethena, then disable them. 

Still need help?

Contact Ethena directly at support@goethena.com

Payroll, benefits, HR and more.