You can add administrators and collaborators to help manage your Gusto 401(k) plan, or remove them when they no longer need access. Here is how to add or remove someone, and how to reassign the trustee role.
When you add administrators or collaborators, the primary benefit administrator (PBA) and trustee can delegate responsibilities. Other members of your organization can then help manage the plan.
Each role has different permissions. Learn more about administrator and collaborator permissions.
Note: Only the primary benefit administrator (PBA) or trustee can add or edit collaborators.
To add a collaborator from the Gusto dashboard, follow these steps:
Go to Benefits.
Under Active Benefits, find 401(k) and select Manage.
Go to Settings in the top menu.
Scroll down to Manage Collaborators.
Select Add a collaborator.
Enter the new collaborator’s information, then select Next step.
Choose the role and responsibilities of the new collaborator, then select Save collaborator.
To add a collaborator from Gusto Retirement, follow these steps:
Sign in to your 401(k) administrator dashboard at the Gusto Retirement sign-in page.
Select your company name in the upper-right corner.
Select Settings.
Scroll down to the Collaborators section.
Select Add a collaborator.
Enter the new collaborator’s information, then select Next step.
Choose the role and responsibilities of the new collaborator, then select Save collaborator.
Once you add the new collaborator, they get a notification asking them to claim their account. They will not have access to the dashboard until they finish setting up their account.
Only the trustee can appoint or edit the PBA.
You can assign only one collaborator as the PBA.
If you remove the PBA without appointing a new one, the trustee automatically becomes the PBA and holds both roles.
If you need to remove an administrator or collaborator from your 401(k) plan, your plan's trustee or PBA can make the change from their administrator dashboard.
To remove a collaborator from the Gusto dashboard, follow these steps:
Go to Benefits.
Under Active Benefits, find 401(k) and select Manage.
Go to Settings in the top menu.
Scroll down to Manage Collaborators.
Find the person to remove and select the trash can icon in their row.
In the pop-up window, select OK to confirm the removal.
To remove a collaborator from Gusto Retirement, follow these steps:
Sign in to your 401(k) administrator dashboard at the Gusto Retirement sign-in page.
Select your company name in the upper-right corner.
Select Settings.
Scroll down to the Collaborators section.
Find the person to remove and select the trash can icon in their row.
In the pop-up window, select OK to confirm the removal.
After you remove the person, they no longer get notifications about the plan or have access to the administrator dashboard.
The plan trustee holds the highest level of administration of the plan. To reassign the trustee role, you need to complete and submit a Trustee Change Packet. You cannot reassign the trustee role until this process is done.