With the Gusto app directory, you can manage your Google Workspace account right from Gusto. Once connected, you can:
There’s no additional fee to use any of our Google Workspace integration features.
If you don’t have a Google Workspace account yet: set up your plan with Google, then follow the steps below to connect it to your Gusto app directory and transfer your billing. Coming soon: purchasing your Google Workspace plan right from Gusto.
If your company already has a Google Workspace account, you can transfer your billing to Gusto and manage your billing with ease. You’ll be billed for your Google Workspace subscription on your monthly Gusto invoice.
Your Google Flexible plan payment terms will remain the same as they were before. You'll pay Gusto monthly with no annual commitment. If you're on an Annual/Fixed Term plan, refer to the "Eligibility" section below.
How to time your transfer
You can transfer your account to Gusto within 30 days of your renewal date with no extra charge. If you transfer your account outside of the renewal window, you will not receive a refund for any prepaid period of service.
Flexible plan holders can transfer an account at any time (as long as you meet the above eligibility criteria).
If your company already has a Google Workspace account, follow these steps to connect your billing to Gusto.
Step 1: Connect to Google Workspace through the Gusto app directory
Follow these steps if you have not yet connected Google Workspace to your Gusto app directory. If you have already connected Google Workspace to your Gusto app directory, skip to "Step 2: Integrate your Google Workspace billing with Gusto."
Once you connect Google Workspace is connected to Gusto, follow the steps below to integrate your billing.
Step 2: Integrate your Google Workspace billing with Gusto
Once you’ve connected Google Workspace to your Gusto app directory, follow these steps to integrate your billing.
Click the Billing tab to see your Google Workspace invoice info in Gusto. Google Workspace will be added as a line item on your monthly Gusto bill. You’ll pay Gusto directly for your subscription.
When you first transfer your billing, it's prorated for that month: If you transfer your billing to Gusto on the first of the month, Gusto will invoice your next Google Workspace bill in full. If you transfer your billing after the first, you’ll receive two prorated bills for that month: one from your previous billing method for the first part of the month until your transfer, and one from Gusto for the rest of the month after your transfer.
If you'd like to upgrade or downgrade your Google Workspace pricing plan, you can do this right from Gusto at any time. Your billing will be prorated to the day.
You can choose from any of these plans:
Click here to compare plans and pricing. Business plans allow up to 300 licenses. More than 300 licenses require an Enterprise plan.
Follow these steps to upgrade or downgrade your Google Workspace pricing plan from Gusto:
Your plan will update immediately and your billing will be prorated to the day.
If you no longer want to be billed for Google Workspace through Gusto, follow the steps below to transfer your billing back to Google. You’ll then be billed separately by Gusto and Google for your respective accounts.
Here's how to transfer your Google Workspace back to Google:
If you transfer your billing to Google on the first of the month, Google will invoice your next Google Workspace bill in full. If you transfer your billing after the first, you’ll receive two prorated bills for that month: one from Gusto for the first part of the month until your transfer, and one from Google for the rest of the month after your transfer.
You have 30 days from the day you transfer to set up your new payment details in Google. Your account will be active during this time and you can manage your subscription in the Google Admin console.
Canceling your Gusto account
If you cancel your Gusto account, we’ll transfer your Google Workspace billing management to Google at the end of your Gusto billing cycle.
If you’re experiencing connection issues between Gusto and Google Workspace, check the settings in your Google admin console. Reseller access and API access are enabled by default and the integration will be interrupted if you’ve disabled them.
Here’s how to check the reseller access setting:
Then check your API access:
If either of these settings remains disabled, Gusto can’t access your Google account details or offer billing support. Your account would transfer back to Google on its renewal date.
Start here for popular help articles from Google.
Gmail, calendar, and groups