How can we help?

New company registration in New Hampshire

New Hampshire tax agency

  • New Hampshire Employment Security (NHES) - unemployment tax

Register a new company

Most companies are liable for state unemployment if they have one or more workers in different weeks in a calendar year, payroll of $1,500 in a calendar quarter, or they are liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act. You can register with New Hampshire Employment Security (NHES) online in order to obtain a State Unemployment Account Number and tax rates. You should receive this number within 2 weeks of registering online. You may also call the day after registering to receive this number sooner over the phone. If you have any questions about the registration process, you should call the agency at (603) 224-3311. 

UI and AC Tax Rates

Your rates will appear on the Tax Rate Determination letter that you receive from New Hampshire Employment Security. This rate is subject to any surcharges or less any fund-balance reductions that may be in effect for the quarter and year. Visit this website for a current list of surcharges or reductions that may be in place, you can also utilize their Tax Rate Chart.

Click here to view state-by-state new employer rates and wage bases. If you’re unsure of your rates, verify them by calling the agency at (603) 224-3311. 

Payroll, benefits, HR and more.