If you have a Plus or Premium plan with Gusto, you can connect provisioning apps to Gusto with the steps below. If you're on another Gusto plan, you have the option to upgrade your plan at anytime. Google Workspace and Microsoft 365 work email provisioning remain available on all Gusto plans.
When you set up provisioning apps, you can automatically create and remove third-party app accounts (like Slack or Zoom) for your team directly from Gusto. What you can do:
Check out all available provisioning apps here.
Once you're directed to the Match Accounts page in Gusto, follow the steps below in the "Create or match employee accounts" accordion.
Follow these steps for any employees who already have an account with the app through your company. Some accounts will be automatically matched if their name and email is the same in both Gusto and the third-party app.
On the Accounts tab, each matched employee's "App account" and "Status" reflect your changes. You can also view each person’s accounts from the Apps tab of their employee profile.
Outside of the new hire onboarding or dismissal steps, you can add or remove an employee's third-party app account from the App directory.
Once their account is created, it's listed in the employee’s profile under their Apps tab. On the app’s page in the App directory, their account is also listed under the Accounts tab.
First, onboard the new hire to Gusto. If you sent them an offer letter through Gusto, you'll have to wait til they accept their offer for the onboarding checklist to appear. Here's how to set up their new app account from the onboarding checklist:
Once created, the new app is listed in the employee’s profile under their Apps tab. On the app’s page in the App directory, their account is also listed under the Accounts tab.
You can quickly and securely remove an employee’s app access in two ways: from their employee profile, or at the time of dismissal.
If you want to simply disconnect their account from Gusto but keep the account active, scroll to “Unmatch a current employee's account.”
You can remove a current team member’s account from the Apps tab of their profile.
Once you complete these steps, the employee's access to the app is revoked and their account is removed. Their connection status is updated on both the app's page in the App directory and the Apps tab of the employee's profile.
When someone leaves the company, you can securely remove their account at the same time you dismiss them.
This immediately revokes their access to that app and removes their account.
If you want to simply disconnect an account from Gusto but keep the account active, follow these steps.
Once complete, this person’s account remains active with the third-party app, but your ability to manage their app access from Gusto is disabled. If you want to reconnect their account to Gusto in the future, return to the Accounts tab and choose Match accounts.
Give the right person at your company access to create and remove accounts (ie. IT team). For instructions on how to provide Apps & IT permissions reference this article.
If you want to allow a company admin to manage app settings, follow these steps.
Your new admin will be notified of their new permissions via email.
If you no longer want to create and remove your team's app accounts from Gusto, follow these steps. This does not remove any of your employees' accounts.
The next time you need to create or remove someone's access to this app, you'll need to do so within the app itself instead of in Gusto.