How can we help?

Continuation Rules by State

If your company is not subject to federal COBRA, your dismissed employees and their covered dependents may be eligible for state continuation coverage (sometimes called “mini-COBRA”). We also recommend checking out the health insurance marketplace when you’re evaluating your options.

These states do not offer state continuation coverage: Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, Puerto Rico

Washington: Each employer can decide whether to offer state continuation coverage to dismissed employees and their dependents, subject to carrier restrictions.

Each state that offers state continuation coverage has different rules. Here are the basics:

State

How long do employees need to be covered before they’re eligible?

How long can members typically continue coverage?

What lines of coverage can typically be continued?

Other notes

Arizona

90 days

18 months

 

This law goes into place for plans beginning 12/31/18 or later

Arkansas

3 months

120 days

Medical

Administered by insurance carriers directly to members

California

1 day

36 months

Medical, dental, vision

Administered by insurance carriers directly to members

Colorado

6 months

18 months

Medical

 

Connecticut

Not specified

30 months

Medical, dental, vision

 

DC

Not specified

3 months

Medical

 

Delaware

3 months

9 months

Medical

 

Florida

1 day

18 months

Medical

May be administered by insurance carriers directly to members

Georgia

6 months

3 months

Medical

 

Illinois

3 months

12 months

Medical

 

Iowa

3 months

9 months

Medical

 

Kansas

3 months

18 months

Medical

Administered by insurance carriers directly to members

Kentucky

3 months

18 months

Medical

Administered by insurance carriers directly to members

Louisiana

3 months

12 months

Medical

 

Maine

6 months

1 year

Medical

Employees are only eligible due to temporary layoff or loss of employment due to an injury/disease the employee claims is compensable under workers compensation

Maryland

3 months

18 months

Medical

 

Massachusetts

1 day

18 months

Medical, dental, vision

Employees must have been hired for 5 months and working at least 30 hours per week to be eligible

Minnesota

Not specified

18 months

Medical

 

Mississippi

3 months

12 months

Medical

Administered by insurance carriers directly to members

Missouri

Not specified

18 months

Medical

 

Nebraska

Not specified

6 months

Medical

 

New Hampshire

Not specified

18 months

Medical, dental, vision

 

New Jersey

3 months

Until eligible for other coverage

Medical

 

New Mexico

Not specified

6 months

Medical

 

New York

Not specified

36 months

Medical

 

North Carolina

3 months

18 months

Medical

 

North Dakota

Not specified

39 weeks

Medical

 

Ohio

3 months

12 months

Medical

 

Oklahoma

Not specified

63 days

Medical

Administered by insurance carriers directly to members

Oregon

3 months

9 months

Medical, dental, vision

 

Pennsylvania

3 months

9 months

Medical

 

Rhode Island

Not specified

18 months

Medical, dental, vision

 

South Carolina

Not specified

6 months

Medical

 

South Dakota

Not specified

18 months

Medical

 

Tennessee

3 months

3 months

Medical

 

Texas

3 months

9 months

Medical

 

Utah

3 months

12 months

Medical, dental, vision

 

Vermont

Not specified

18 months

Medical, dental

 

Virginia

Not specified

12 months

Medical

 

West Virginia

Not specified

18 months

Medical

 

Wisconsin

Not specified

As long as premiums are paid

Medical

 

Wyoming

3 months

12 months

Medical